Congress Announces Karnataka Chief Minister Oath Date, But Not The Name

Congress Announces Karnataka Chief Minister Oath Date, But Not The Name

The Congress gained the Karnataka meeting election 2023


The new Karnataka Chief Minister and the cupboard will take oath on Thursday, sources stated.

The Gandhis and nationwide Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge will attend the occasion. The Congress has despatched invites to all “like-minded” events to attend the oath-taking occasion.

The ultimate contours of the Karnataka cupboard will take form in a day or two, individuals with direct information of the matter stated.

The BJP has been voted out of energy in Karnataka, its solely bastion within the south till yesterday, when the Congress took 135 seats within the 224-member home.

The BJP gained solely 66 seats, down from 104 within the 2018 state election. It didn’t win a single seat reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST) class. Karnataka has 51 reserved constituencies, out of which 36 are for Scheduled Castes (SC) candidates and 15 for ST candidates.

The Congress known as a gathering of its MLAs right now to debate who could be the Chief Minister.

The Congress Legislature Party (CLP) is anticipated to cross a decision leaving it to the Congress nationwide president to determine the Chief Minister choose. No ultimate determination shall be taken right now, however the views of all MLAs shall be ascertained, sources stated.

Congress General Secretaries Sushil Kumar Shinde, Deepak Babaria and Jitendra Singh Alwar are the observers of the Karnataka CLP assembly.

Congress leaders DK Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah have expressed curiosity for the highest submit, elevating considerations over a stand-off if the matter isn’t resolved.

Mr Shivakumar has gone along with his household and brother, Congress MP from Bangalore Rural DK Suresh, to a temple 120 km away from the state capital Bengaluru.

Siddaramaiah’s supporters have put up a poster outdoors his house in Bengaluru, referring to him as “the subsequent Chief Minister of Karnataka”.

Posters additionally got here up outdoors Mr Shivakumar’s home, wishing “birthday greetings” to “the brand new Chief Minister of Karnataka”. His birthday is tomorrow.

The scale of the Congress win is a file by way of each seats and vote share in over 30 years. The celebration gained 135 seats – 55 greater than in 2018 – with a vote share of 42.88 per cent. The closest the Congress got here to this rating was in 1999 when it gained 132 seats and had a vote share of 40.84 per cent. In 1989, it gained 178 seats with a vote share of 43.76 per cent.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart