ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: Team’s Road To 20-Over Extravaganza

Ten groups will head to South Africa for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023, seeking to observe within the footsteps of Australia and raise the coveted trophy. Three years after Beth Mooney and Alyssa Healy impressed Australia to the title on dwelling soil, they continue to be the group to beat. However, 9 groups may have different concepts, with only one change from the line-up in 2020 as Ireland takes the place of Thailand, having come by way of a nail-biting qualifying event to guide their spot.

The first group to clinch a spot have been South Africa, as hosts, and so they have been joined in automated qualifying by the world’s high seven groups on the earth rankings on 30 November 2021.

That meant Australia, the defending champions, India, the 2020 runners-up, in addition to England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and the West Indies, would all be part of South Africa within the event.

Two spots nonetheless needed to be attributed, with 37 groups scheduled to battle it out throughout 5 regional teams. The winners of these 5 Regional Qualifiers have been joined by Thailand and Bangladesh, the 2 lowest-ranked groups who had competed on the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, within the Qualifier.

The ultimate spot on the Qualifier went to the remaining highest-ranked group who had not certified by way of Regional Qualifying, which means that Ireland joined a bunch with Bangladesh, Scotland and the US.

The different group was made up of Zimbabwe, Thailand, Papua New Guinea and the United Arab Emirates.

Nigar Sultana was excellent for Bangladesh as they received all three of their group video games, scoring 157 runs at a median of 78.5.

They have been joined within the semifinals by Ireland, who prevailed in a winner-takes-all conflict with Scotland by 19 runs thanks largely to Gaby Lewis’ 37-ball 66.

Group B noticed a tighter contest, with each group dropping at the least one match. Kelis Ndlovu‘s performances with bat and ball have been essential in Zimbabwe’s opening two victories over Papua New Guinea and Thailand.

Qualifying for the semifinal alongside Zimbabwe have been Thailand, due to a 12-run win over PNG in a straight shootout for the final 4. Nattaya Boochatham was the hero as she took 4 for eight.

Serving as deciders for the ultimate two spots in South Africa, each semi-finals have been tense affairs, with Ireland edging previous Zimbabwe by 4 runs.

Having made 137 for six batting first, Ireland seemed up towards it with 5 to go when Zimbabwe have been 99 for 3. But some tight bowling left Zimbabwe needing 15 from the ultimate over and that proved too tall a activity as Ireland clinched a spot on the foremost occasion, having earned the ultimate spot within the Qualifier.

In the opposite semifinal, Bangladesh have been pushed arduous by Thailand after making 113 for 5 from their 20 overs – even skipper Sultana struggled, making 17 off 24 balls.

That proved sufficient although as Thailand have been shortly decreased to 13 for 3 and fell approach behind the required run price. Natthakan Chantham’s 64 from 51 balls was not sufficient to get them again into it as 11 runs beat them.

Having already secured qualification, Bangladesh and Ireland then met for the second time within the event ultimate, with the identical end result because the Asian facet acquired dwelling by seven runs to win the event.

Their reward is a spot in Group A within the event, alongside champions Australia, hosts South Africa, in addition to New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

In Group B, Ireland joined England and India, finalists on the final T20 and ODI World Cups respectively, in addition to the West Indies and Pakistan.

Featured Video Of The Day

“No Compromise”: Yogeshwar Dutt On Harassment Allegations Against Wrestling Chief

Topics talked about on this article

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart