MCD Mayor Election Today, Weeks After AAP-BJP Fight Stalled Poll: 10 Points

Delhi will get a mayor for the town as a complete after a niche of 10 years.

New Delhi:
The high-stakes battle for Delhi’s important municipal physique will conclude within the election of a mayor on Tuesday, weeks after a conflict between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the BJP stalled the ballot.

Here are the ten newest developments on this story:

  1. Councillors of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) will elect the mayor and a deputy mayor of Delhi, greater than a month after the AAP gained the civic physique polls.

  2. The first assembly of the 250-member MCD House was referred to as off on January 6 with out electing the mayor amid loud protests by AAP councillors who alleged the BJP was attempting to wrest management of the civic physique regardless of shedding the elections.

  3. On Tuesday, presiding officer Satya Sharma of the BJP, appointed by the Delhi Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena, administered the oath to 10 nominated councillors first, regardless of the fierce opposition by the AAP within the final assembly. The AAP has mentioned these councillors, often known as aldermen, aren’t allowed to vote.

  4. Heavy safety, together with a bigger variety of civil defence personnel, and marshals, has been posted on the Civic Centre, the headquarters of the MCD.

  5. The AAP has nominated Shelly Oberoi for the position and likewise named one other candidate Ashu Thakur as “backup”. The BJP has nominated Rekha Gupta. The nominees for the submit of deputy mayor are Aaley Mohammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar (AAP) and Kamal Bagri (BJP).

  6. After shedding the polls, the BJP had first hinted it might combat the AAP for the submit of mayor. The occasion then went again on the assertion, saying the mayor can be from the AAP. The occasion then did one more about-turn, saying it’s going to contest the ballot in any case.

  7. The civic polls have been held on December 4 and the counting of votes occurred on December 7. The AAP emerged because the clear winner within the polls, scoring 134 wards and ending the BJP’s 15-year rule within the civic physique. The BJP gained 104 wards to complete second, whereas the Congress gained 9 seats.

  8. The submit of mayor within the nationwide capital sees 5 single-year phrases on a rotation foundation, with the primary 12 months being reserved for girls, the second for the open class, the third for the reserved class, and the remaining two once more for the open class. Delhi will thus get a lady mayor this 12 months.

  9. This would be the first time in 10 years that the town may have one mayor following the merger of three divisions of the municipal physique final 12 months.

  10. The voters for the election of the mayor are 250 councillors, seven Lok Sabha and three Rajya Sabha MPs from Delhi and 14 MLAs nominated by the Legislative Assembly. The Delhi Assembly Speaker has nominated one BJP MLA and 13 AAP MLAs to the MCD.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart