Voting Begins For 4 Assembly Seats Across Meghalaya, Odisha And UP

Voting Begins For 4 Assembly Seats Across Meghalaya, Odisha And UP

New Delhi:

Polling for 4 meeting seats in Uttar Pradesh, Odisha, and Meghalaya is being held right now together with voting for one Lok Sabha seat in Punjab.

Voting has begun within the meeting seats of Suar and Chhanbey in Uttar Pradesh, Jharsuguda in Odisha, and Sohiong in Meghalaya. Polling in Punjab’s Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat will begin at 8 am.

The Jalandhar seat fell vacant after the demise of Congress MP Santokh Singh Chaudhary. He suffered a cardiac arrest through the get together’s Bharat Jodo Yatra in Jalandhar’s Phillaur in January this 12 months. The seat is predicted to witness a four-cornered contest with the AAP, BJP, Congress, and Shiromani Akali Dal vying to outdo one another within the Dalit stronghold.

Prominent amongst these within the fray are Congress’ Karamjit Kaur, the spouse of Santokh Chaudhary, ex-MLA Sushil Rinku, who give up the Congress to affix the BJP, and Inder Iqbal Singh Atwal, a Dalit Sikh, who give up the Shiromani Akali Dal to affix the saffron get together.

In Uttar Pradesh’s Suar and Chhanbey seats, there’s a faceoff between the ruling coalition and the opposition Samajwadi Party. Though the outcomes can have no precipitative influence on the structure of the meeting, it will likely be a morale booster for the victor earlier than the Lok Sabha ballot subsequent 12 months.

The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party has determined to not contest the by-elections, whereas the Congress has fielded its candidate solely in Chhanbey.

In Meghalaya, polling is underway in Sohiong, the place a bypoll was necessitated because of the demise of UDP candidate HDR Lyngdoh forward of the meeting elections held in the remainder of the state on February 27. Polling to Sohiong was then postponed as a result of Lyngdoh’s demise.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart